SAARC summit: Pakistan Pleads India To Take Part In SAARC Summit: Pakistan urges India to participate in SAARC summit

Written by admin


  • Pakistan is anxious to get India included in the 19th SAARC summit
  • Pakistan’s foreign minister’s offer – if not physically, then India should also be connected virtually
  • India said – we have not yet received a formal invitation

Pakistan has sent an invitation to India for the SAARC Summit (19th SAARC Summit) to be held in Islamabad. Pakistan is very anxious to get India included in this summit. Pakistani Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi has offered that if India cannot come physically then it can join virtually. In September last year, the meeting was called off due to Pakistan’s insistence on getting the Taliban involved.

India said – did not get formal invitation
Pakistan’s Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi said that we extend an invitation to all the member countries. SAARC includes Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. However, India has said that it has not yet received any formal invitation from Pakistan. Just a few days ago, Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan had indicated about the organization of the SAARC summit.

Meeting of foreign ministers of SAARC countries canceled, the reason was Taliban’s love for Pakistan
Imran Khan has high hopes from SAARC
Imran Khan had said that through this meeting, efforts will be made to establish economic coordination among the SAARC countries. He claimed that through this meeting, efforts will be made to raise the standard of living of the people of South Asian countries. Pakistan Foreign Office said that Imran Khan’s emphasis is on solving climate change, education, poverty alleviation, energy integration and health challenges and strengthen mutual cooperation among SAARC countries.

The 19th summit was to be held in 2016
The 19th SAARC Summit was scheduled to be held in Islamabad from 15-19 November 2016. But, India refused to join because of the terrorist attack on an Indian Army camp in Uri, Jammu and Kashmir on 18 September that year. After this Bangladesh, Bhutan and Afghanistan also refused to participate in this meeting. Due to this compulsion, Pakistan had to cancel the summit.

Pak exposed again, SAARC countries meeting cancelled; Know what it means
Know the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation
SAARC is an organization of eight countries in South Asia, whose full name is South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation. SAARC was formed on 8 December 1985. Its aim is to achieve peace and progress in South Asia through mutual cooperation. Afghanistan is the newest member of SAARC countries. The remaining seven countries are India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and Maldives.

shah mehmood qureshi 01223

Shah Mehmood Qureshi


About the author


Leave a Comment